## MINUTES OF THE AUSTRALIA DAY AWARDS COMMITTEE MEETING HELD IN THE COONABARABRAN COUNCIL CHAMBERS ON THURSDAY 18 NOVEMBER 2021 COMMENCING AT 3.04PM.

**PRESENT:** Cr Ambrose Doolan (Mayor), Cr Peter Shinton, Cl Denis Todd, Cr Wendy Hill, Cr Anne–Louise Capel, Cr Kodi Brady (3.12pm), Cl Ray Lewis (3.12pm) and Roger Bailey (General Manager, GM)

## APOLOGIES:

**RESOLVED** that the apologies from Cr Fred Clancy and Cr Aniello lannuzzi be accepted.

MOVED: Councillor Capel SECONDED Councillor Hill

For – Unanimous

## The Mayor called for Conflicts of Interests

Cl Doolan declared a less than significant conflict of interest, that Nancy Doolan is a cousin, and that his sister Mary Doolan made the nomination.

Cr Capel declared a less than significant conflict of interest in the Coolah Development Group and Coolah Landcare, being a member of these groups.

MOVED: Councillor Doolan SECONDED Councillor Capel

For – Unanimous

## Item 1 – Selection of Recipients

**RESOLVED** that the s355 Australia Day Committee select recipients of the 2022 Australia Day Awards.

MOVED: Councillor Capel SECONDED Councillor Shinton

For – Unanimous

## Item 2 Recipients for the 2022 Australia Day Awards

## Table 5 – Young Sportsperson of the Year

**RESOLVED** that Wilmie van Schalkwyk be the recipient of the Young Sportsperson of the Year Award.

MOVED: Councillor Todd SECONDED Councillor Hill

For – Unanimous

Table 7 – Environmental Citizen of the YearThe recipient declined the Award.

## Table 2 Young Citizen of the Year

**RESOLVED** that Melinda Ryan be the recipient of the Young Citizen of the Year Award.

## MINUTES OF THE AUSTRALIA DAY AWARDS COMMITTEE MEETING HELD IN THE COONABARABRAN COUNCIL CHAMBERS ON THURSDAY 18 NOVEMBER 2021 COMMENCING AT 3.04PM.

MOVED: Councillor Shinton SECONDED Councillor Hill

For – Unanimous

Councillor Brady and Councillor Lewis joined the meeting

## Table 4 – Sportsperson of the Year

**RESOLVED** that Richie Milgate be the recipient of the Sportsperson of the Year Award.

MOVED: Councillor Todd SECONDED Councillor Hill

For – Unanimous

#### Table 1 – Citizen of the Year

Councillor Lewis declared that Jane Phillips is a relative and that this was a less than significant conflict of interest.

**RESOLVED** that Jane Phillips be the recipient of the Citizen of the Year Award.

MOVED: Councillor Todd SECONDED Councillor Hill

For – Unanimous

## Table 3 – Senior Citizen of the Year RESOLVED that Joan Wilkin be the recipient of the Senior Citizen of the Year Award.

MOVED: Councillor Brady SECONDED Councillor Todd

For – Unanimous

## Table 6 – Community Event of the Year

**RESOLVED** that World Whisky Day – Black Gate Distillery and Wings 'N' Things be the joint recipients of the Community Event of the Year Award.

MOVED: Councillor Doolan SECONDED Councillor Brady

For – Unanimous

# Table 8 – Cultural Achievement Award RESOLVED that the Rapley Family be the recipient of the Cultural Achievement Award.

**MOVED:** Councillor Brady **SECONDED** Councillor Capel

For – Unanimous

## Item 3 – Clarification of Categories for Australia Day 2023

i. Young Sportsperson of the Year

## MINUTES OF THE AUSTRALIA DAY AWARDS COMMITTEE MEETING HELD IN THE COONABARABRAN COUNCIL CHAMBERS ON THURSDAY 18 NOVEMBER 2021 COMMENCING AT 3.04PM.

**RESOLVED** that the Young Sportsperson of the Year be under 20 years of age as at 26 January of the relevant year.

**MOVED:** Councillor Shinton **SECONDED** Councillor Capel

For – Unanimous

## ii. Sportsperson of the Year

**RESOLVED** that the Sportsperson of the Year be 20 years of age or older as at 26 January of the relevant year.

MOVED: Councillor Capel SECONDED Councillor Hill

For – Unanimous

## iii. Young Environmental Citizen of the Year

**RESOLVED** that the Young Environmental Citizen of the Year be 20 years of age or younger as at 26 January of the relevant year.

MOVED: Councillor Hill SECONDED Councillor Todd

For – Unanimous

There being no further business, meeting was closed 3.39pm.